Sports Turf Managers Association Announces 2021 ‘Field of the Year’ Winners

(LAWRENCE, Kan.) – Sports Turf Managers Association (STMA) – the professional association of 2,700 men and women who are critical to maintaining sports fields worldwide athletes – announces its 2021 “Field of the Year” winners, an award spotlighting the individuals and programs who excelled this year in providing quality, safe playing surfaces.

Every year, STMA presents the industry’s highest honor to members who manage baseball, football, soccer, softball and other sporting playing surfaces at the professional, collegiate, schools (K-12), and parks and recreation levels. The 2021 winners are featured below:

Baseball – Sahlen Field, Buffalo Bisons (Buffalo, NY): Kelly Rensel, CSFM Soccer – Red Bull Arena, New York Red Bulls, (Harrison, NJ): Neal Sitzman

College and University
Football – Moncrief Field at Amon Carter Stadium, Texas Christian University (Fort Worth, TX): Andrew Siegel Soccer – Garvey-Rosenthal Soccer Field, Texas Christian University (Fort Worth, TX): Andrew Siegel Baseball – Dudy Noble Field, Mississippi State University (Starkville, MS): Brandon Hardin Softball – Rhoads Stadium, University of Alabama (Tuscaloosa, AL): Jon DeWitt, CSFM Sporting Grounds – Dorrance Field, University of North Carolina (Chapel Hill, NC): Casey Carrick, CSFM

Schools and Parks
Baseball – Norbrock Stadium, City of Kamloops (Kamloops, Canada): Mike DeCicco and Shawn Cook Soccer – Walsh Field, Pace Academy (Mableton, GA): Daniel Prince Softball – Tournament Capital Ranch Slo-Pitch Field, City of Kamloops (Kamloops, Canada): Mike DeCicco and Shawn Cook Sporting Grounds – Donald Lambert Field, Brentsville District High School (Nokesville, VA): Drew Miller and Turfgrass Management Students

“The hard work and dedication of the men and women who maintain our sports fields are pivotal to enriching our communities, whether we are playing softball at a local park or cheering on our favorite college and professional teams,” says Kim Heck, CAE, CEO of STMA. “Each of the 2021 winners displayed excellence in the field while upholding STMA’s unwavering commitment to field safety and playability.”

The STMA Awards Committee, led by Scott Thompson, CSFM, reviewed each submittal and independently rated applicants on field quality as impacted by staffing, budget, use, monthly maintenance, and a visual story that documents challenges and successes.

Winners receive a complimentary registration to the annual STMA conference, accommodations for three nights, signature clothing and a trophy for display. Also, each recipient will be highlighted in an upcoming issue of SportsField Management magazine, the official monthly publication of STMA.