Sports Turf Managers Association Announces Eighth Annual ‘Mowing Patterns Contest’

(LAWRENCE, Kan.) – Sports Turf Managers Association (STMA) – the organization for 2,700 men and women professionals overseeing sports fields from recreational, professional and major college programs across the country to ensure athlete safety – announces entries are now open for its eighth annual “Mowing Patterns Contest.”
STMA Members interested in entering are asked to craft unique patterns for eligibility to win complimentary registration to the 2022 STMA Annual Conference in Savannah, Ga. Entries can be submitted here before Nov. 13, 2021; only patterns produced with mowing equipment qualify. The general public may vote on here from Nov. 14 – 21. The design receiving the largest number of votes, upon verification, will be named the winner.
“Our members are incredibly creative and the Mowing Pattern Contest is a great way to showcase their immense talent to the communities they serve and industry at large,” says Kim Heck, CAE, CEO of STMA. “STMA members are devoted to maintaining safe field surfaces for the athletes who rely on them, and this contest is a fun and informative way to shine a light on the hard work and dedication these individuals put into their jobs each day.”
Last year’s Mowing Pattern contest was unfortunately cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic, however, the winner in 2019 was Andrew Miller with his entry of the ‘Nation’s Largest Classroom’ designed in Nokesville, Virginia.
The Mowing Patterns winning design will have a custom poster featured at the 2022 STMA Conference & Exhibition (Jan. 17 – 20) in Savannah. Ga. More than 1,600 leaders in the sports turf industry will gather together for four days to learn more cutting-edge sports turf education, participate in networking functions and exhibitor demonstrations. With nine educational tracks, topics include: turfgrass management, facility management, synthetic, pest control, water, industry developments, baseball and professional development.
Only STMA members are eligible to enter and previous winners will not be considered.