World Golf Hall of Fame & Museum Names Selection Commission Co-Chairs for 2017 Induction Class

Jack Nicklaus Joins Fellow Hall of Fame Member Co-Chairs

Age Change to Induction Criteria also Announced

St. Augustine, FLORIDA (March 30, 2016) – The World Golf Hall of Fame & Museum today announced 18-time Major winner Jack Nicklaus will join fellow Hall of Fame Members Nancy Lopez, Gary Player and Annika Sorenstam as Co-Chairs of the Selection Commission for the World Golf Hall of Fame. The Selection Commission will elect the Class of 2017 which will be inducted Monday, May 8, 2017, the week of THE PLAYERS.

Lopez, Player and Sorenstam will return for a second term, while Nicklaus will replace Arnold Palmer and join the process for the first time.

“Being elected into the World Golf Hall of Fame, especially with the inaugural class (of 13) in 1974, was one of the unquestioned highlights of my career,” said Nicklaus. “It was a sign of respect and validation for the hard work I put into a game I have always loved and considered the greatest game of all. To now have the opportunity to join the Selection Commission, including my friends Nancy Lopez, Annika Sorenstam and Gary Player—all great players, wonderful people, and all highly respected in our game—gives me the opportunity to perhaps make someone else’s career and life very special with this honor. The Commission is an esteemed group of global leaders in our game, and I am honored to have the opportunity to help them advance the World Golf Hall of Fame and its tremendous work. And it should be a lot of fun along the way.”

“We are honored and excited to have Jack Nicklaus join the Selection Commission,” said Jack Peter, President of the World Golf Hall of Fame & Museum. “From his storied playing career to his current contributions to the game, he certainly has a firm grasp on the sport’s pulse and will be an incredible asset to the Selection Commission. I’d also like to take this opportunity to thank Mr. Palmer for helping us transition to our new Induction process. He has been, and continues to be, one of the Hall of Fame’s most engaged and insightful supporters.”

The Selection Commission will review candidates in four categories: Male and Female Competitor, Veterans and Lifetime Achievement. Later this fall, the Commission will assemble to discuss the merits and vote on the 16 finalists. A candidate must receive at least 75 percent of the vote to be elected. The Class of 2017 will be announced later this fall.

Also announced today was a change to the qualifying age for enshrinement. Effective immediately, candidates must be at least 50 years of age at the start of the year in which selections are made, replacing the previous age requirement of 40. The exception would be if a player was at least five years removed from being an active participant on his or her respective Tour.

“We work very closely with our Hall of Fame Members to ensure all aspects of the Induction criteria are shrewd and judicious,” added Peter. “As players continue to elevate their fitness levels and continue to play at a high level for a longer period of time, moving the age requirement to 50 ensures that we are able to celebrate their careers at the proper time.”

The Class of 2017 will be inducted on May 8th, the Monday of THE PLAYERS, and the 2019 class will be honored at Pebble Beach the week of the men’s U.S. Open.

For more information, visit


Nancy Lopez
Jack Nicklaus
Gary Player
Annika Sorenstam

Institutional Members
World Golf Foundation Board of Directors
European Tour – Keith Pelley, Chief Executive
LPGA – Mike Whan, Commissioner
PGA of America – Peter Bevacqua, Chief Executive Officer
PGA TOUR – Tim Finchem, Commissioner
The Masters – Will Jones, Executive Director
The R&A – Martin Slumbers, Chief Executive
USGA – Mike Davis, Executive Director

Chairman of the AGW & President of the GWAA
AGW – Iain Carter, Chairman
GWAA – Jeff Babineau, President

At-Large Members
PGA of Australia – Brian Thorburn, Chief Executive Officer
Ladies European Tour – Ivan Khodabakhsh, Chief Executive Officer
AGW – John Hopkins, Past Chairman


Jack Peter, President, World Golf Hall of Fame

Institutional Members
World Golf Foundation Board Organizations
European Tour – Richard Hills, Ryder Cup Director
LPGA – Heather Daly-Donofrio, Sr. VP Tour Operations
PGA of America – Julius Mason, Sr. Director Communications & Media Relations
PGA TOUR – Charlie Zink, Executive Vice President & Co-Chief Operating Officer
The Masters – Ron Cross, Senior Director of Corporate Affairs
The R&A – Angela Howe, Director, Museum & Heritage
USGA – Rand Jerris, Sr. Managing Director, Public Services

At-Large Members
World Golf Hall of Fame Members
Amy Alcott
Peter Alliss
Se Ri Pak
Nick Price
Judy Rankin
Curtis Strange

International Federation of PGA Tours
Australian LPGA – Shani Waugh, President
Japan Golf Tour Organization – Isao Matsui

Individual Members
Alastair Johnston
Lewine Mair
Pete McDaniel
Ty Votaw
Andy Yamanaka


About the World Golf Hall of Fame & Museum

The World Golf Hall of Fame & Museum preserves and honors the history of golf and the legacies of those who have made it great. The Hall of Fame & Museum, located at World Golf Village in St. Augustine, Florida, serves as a steward of the game through engaging, interactive storytelling and exhibitions featuring artifacts, works of art, audio, video and photography significant to the history of golf and its members. The Hall of Fame is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit institution and is allied with 26 national and international golf organizations, including The European Tour, LPGA, the Masters Tournament, PGA of America, PGA TOUR, The R&A and USGA. To learn more about the World Golf Hall of Fame or to lend support, visit

About Shell Oil Company

As the sole founding partner of World Golf Hall of Fame, Shell Oil Company provides financial support and plays the lead role in charitable initiatives aimed at introducing golf to young people, and through the golf experience promotes scholastic achievement, community service and those values intrinsic to the game of golf: honesty, integrity and sportsmanship.